IWA Fellows

The IWA Fellows and Distinguished Fellows programme recognises an individual’s sustained outstanding contribution to the water profession, and to delivering the IWA mission of creating a water wise world.

IWA Fellows are nominated based on their significant contributions as engineers, educators, utility managers, regulators, researchers, scientists, or technical leaders.

IWA Distinguished Fellows are outstanding water professionals, recognised for their unique contributions to advancing water science and management and to supporting the IWA’s mission and objectives.

What do IWA Fellows do?

An IWA Fellow is appointed for an initial period of 5 years. During that time Fellows represent the IWA through relevant activities, events and meetings, and support the IWA’s mission and leadership in the implementation of the organisation’s strategic plan. See some of the potential activities fellows work on.

Distinguished IWA Fellows

Distinguished Fellow participate in and lead key activities for the Association, such as during the World Water Congress, at conferences, workshops, specialist groups and the development of position papers. The focus of these contributions is to advance the aims of the IWA and the professional standing of its members and corporate partners. Distinguished Fellows are appointed for an initial 10 years.

Keep up-to-date with the IWA Fellows and Distinguished Fellows (Available for IWA Fellows and Distinguished Fellows only)

Full List Of IWA Fellows

IWA Fellow Steering Committee

David Garman
University of Wisconsin Milwaukee, USA, Co-Chair (Distinguished Fellow)
Julian Sandino
CH2M, USA, Co-Chair (Fellow)

Other Steering Committee Members:

Xiaochang Wang Distinguished Fellow China
Katerina Schilling Fellow AUSTRIA
Jules van Lier Fellow NETHERLANDS
Xia Huang Fellow CHINA
Inga Jacobs Fellow SOUTH AFRICA
Silver Mugisha Fellow UGANDA

IWA Distinguished Fellows

Andreas Angelakis
NAGREF, Institute of Crete, Hellenic Water Supply and Sewerage Association, Greece; IWA Steering Committee Member; IWA Specialist Group Chair
Takashi Asano
Distinguished Fellow Emeritus, University of California, USA; IWA Journal Editor
James Barnard
Black and Veatch Ltd, USA
Roger M Ben Aim
IFTS, France; IWA Steering Committee Member
Andrew Benedek
Vituki - Innosystem Ltd, Canada
Harro Bode
Former Chairman of Ruhrverband, Germany; IWA Governing Member; IWA Journal Editor
Guang-Hao Chen
Individual Researchers Representative, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China; IWA Journal Editor
Glen Daigger
Professor of Engineering Practice, University of Michigan, IWA Board Member, IWA Past President
George Ekama
University of Cape Town, South Africa
Jerome B Gilbert
J. Gilbert, Inc, USA; IWA Journal Editor
David Jenkins
University of California at Berkeley, USA
Joel Mallevialle
Figeac Aero USA, INC, France
Duncan Mara
University of Leeds, UK; IWA Journal Editor
Saburo Matsui
Kyoto University (Professor Emeritus), Japan
Hallvard Ødegaard
SET AS and NTNU (Professor Emeritus), Norway; IWA Journal Editor
Gustaf Olsson
Lund University, Sweden; IWA Journal Editor
Jiuhui Qu
Chinese Academy of Sciences, China; IWA Journal Editor
Paul Reiter
ReiterIWS Ltd., Singapore
Joan Rose
Michigan State University, USA; IWA Board Member; IWA Journal Editor
Michael Rouse
Independent International Advisor at Michael J Rouse, United Kingdom
Hansruedi Siegrist
Eawag, Switzerland
Robert Skinner
Professorial Fellow and Director of Monash University's Water For Livability Centre
Norihito Tambo
Holkkaido University, Japan
Rhodes Trussell
Trussell Technologies Inc., USA
Willy Verstraete
Professor Ugent, Ghent University; IWA Steering Committee; IWA Cluster Representative
Xiaochang Wang
Xi'an University of Architecture and Technology, China; IWA Journal Editor
Yoshimasa Watanabe
Research and Development initiative, Chuo University and Hokkaido University (Professor Emeritus), Japan; IWA Journal Editor
Peter Wilderer
Distinguished Fellow Emeritus, TU München, Germany
David Garman
University of Wisconsin Milwaukee, USA, Co-Chair (Distinguished Fellow)
Blanca Jimenez-Cisneros
Director of the Division of Water Sciences, UNESCO, France; Chair, IWA Specialist Group; IWA Journal Editor
Piet Lens
Wageningen UR, The Netherlands
Shang-Lien Lo
National Taiwan University, Chinese Taiwan; IWA Governing Member; IWA Journal Editor
Sven-Erik Skogsfors
Forest Stream, Sweden
Jiri Wanner
Professor, University of Chemistry and Technology, Prague, Czech Republic; IWA Governing Member